Explorations (1991) · 7 min

for chamber ensemble and two voices without text

flute, clarinet, soprano voice, tenor voice, horn, piano, viola, cello

Program Note

Explorations for Chamber Ensemble and Two Voices Without Text was written during Anthony Paul De Ritis’s first of two summers at the American Conservatory in Fontainebleau, France (Écoles D’Art Américaines) during the summer of 1991. The composers in residence that summer were Phillipe Manoury and Tristan Murail, both of whom made a very strong impact on the young composer. That summer was a life transforming experience for De Ritis.

Explorations was first performed by Anna-Lise Pasch, soprano; Richard Porterfield, baritone Rachel Braude, flute; Regina Tan, clarinet; Robert Sorkin, horn; Julie Goodale, viola; Ellis Artisson, cello; Ami Hakuno, piano; and Music Direction by Brian Robison, at the Salle du Jeu de Paume, Château de Fontainebleau, France, on August 17, 1991.

View Score
Concert Program