Helix (1992) · 4 min

for woodwind quartet and piano

flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, piano

Winner of the Prix de Composition, Lyceé Blanche de Castille

Program Note

Helix was composed and first performed at the American Conservatory in Fontainebleau, France in August 1992, while De Ritis was studying with composer Gilbert Amy, Director of the National Conservatory of Music and Dance in Lyon from 1984 to 2000.

At that time, the composer wrote: “In this work. I have attempted to fuse with my own compositional voice the rhythmic energies and improvisational tone-shaping often found in jazz. As a pianist, I miss the opportunities for ‘bending’ pitch and shaping timbre, whereas the wind instruments offer infinitely greater flexibility.”

Helix was premiered on August 15, 1992, featuring Susan Gall, flute; Zhang Da Yong, oboe; Peryn Clement-Evans, clarinet; Wendy Kemp, bassoon; Cynthia Tarkanian, piano; conducted by Anthony Paul De Ritis; and was subsequently named the recipient of the Prix de Composition, Lyceé Blanche de Castille.

View Score
Concert Programs